Fiery Mother Pucker

Image

Looking back on my childhood, some of my fondest memories are holing up in the family bathroom trying on my mother’s wide assortment of lipsticks. From the softest of pinks to the darkest of rich wines, it seemed my mother had captured a pigment of the rainbow in each luxurious tube. I remember feeling so glamorous as I uncapped the lipstick and applied the slanted balm onto my lips. Each shade unleashed a different facet of my personality. 

I was not allowed to wear lipstick in high school but at the time it didn’t seem to matter. I found solace in flavored Lip Smackers and shimmering glosses. But lately I have been craving that surge of glamour into my every day life. Usually being one to play up the eyes, I am challenging myself to be more experimental when it comes to my beauty routine and play up another feature. This Autumn I look forward to painting my lips with rich hues of burgundy, chocolate, and copper pairing them with full brows, thick lashes, and a soft dew on my face. The photos shown in this post serve as my inspiration.

Above: Elizabeth Olsen wearing a warm berry hue; Below: Donna Karan Spring ’12 sporting a deep burgundy 

Image

Image

 

Leave a Reply

